Belhaven University Home
Site Map |
Search the Belhaven Catalogue

Catalogue: Traditional Program:
Alumni Society

As stated in the constitution and by-laws, the purpose of the Belhaven University Alumni Society "shall be to advance the cause of Christian higher education, to unite all the alumni of Belhaven University into a compact organization so that they may more effectively communicate with each other and with the College on matters of mutual interest, to arrange for alumni reunions, and in other ways support the work of the University's alumni office."

Alumni return to the campus each fall, at which time the presentation of the Alumnus of the Year Award is made. The recipients of the award have been: Elizabeth Spencer (1962), Virginia Hoogenakker (1963), Charlice Minter Gillespie (1964), Sarah Barry Gillespie Wilson (1965), Mary Virginia Alexander (1966), Bess Caldwell (1970), Adeline Hill Ostwalt (1971), Mary Katharine Knoblock McCravey (1972), Frances Preston Mills (1973), and Mary Taylor Sigman (1974).

In 1975, to commemorate 20 years of coeducation, citations rather than a single Alumnus of the Year Award were presented to the following men: Woodrow Wilson Benton, Jr., (class of 1963), John Harrison Campbell, III (class of 1956), Charles Lowry Echols (class of 1959), and Thomas Ennis Elkin (class of 1962).

In celebration of the nation's bicentennial, a Distinguished Service to Mankind Award was presented to industrialist Warren A. Hood in 1976. Distinguished Alumnus Awards were presented to Lula Williams Anderson (class of 1923) and Thomas C. Maynor (class of 1961).

Year Name Award
1962 Elizabeth Spencer, ‘42 Alumna of the Year
1963 Virginia Hoogenakker, ‘43 Alumna of the Year
1964 Minter Gillespie, ‘44 Alumna of the Year
1965 Sarah Barry Gillespie Wilson, ‘35 Alumna of the Year
1966 Mary Virginia Alexander, ‘36 Alumna of the Year
1970 Bess Caldwell, ‘30 Alumna of the Year
1971 Aleline Hill Ostwalt, ‘41 Alumna of the Year
1972 Mary Katherine Knoblock McCravey, ‘32 Alumna of the Year
1973 Frances Preston Mills, ‘23 Alumna of the Year
1974 Mary Taylor Sandefur Sigman, ‘44 Alumna of the Year
1975 Woodrow Wilson Benton, Jr., ‘63 Alumnus of the Year
  John Harrison Campell, III, ‘56 Alumnus of the Year
  Charles Lowry Echols, ‘59 Alumnus of the Year
  Thomas Ennis Elkin, ‘62 Alumnus of the Year
1976 Lulu Williams Anderson, ‘23 Alumna of the Year
  Thomas Maynor, ‘61 Alumnus of the Year
1977 Thomasina Blissard, ‘46 Alumna of the Year
  Elizabeth Caldwell Swindell, ‘27 Alumna of the Year
1978 Bettye Quinn, ‘58 Alumna of the Year
1980 Janie Eldredge Languirand, ‘40 Alumna of the Year
1982 Verne R. Kennedy, ‘63 Alumnus of the Year
1983 Clarence Chapman, ‘69 Alumnus of the Year
1984 Margaret Weathersby, ‘43 Alumna of the Year
1985 James H. Hood, ‘75 Alumnus of the Year
1986 Evelyn Tackett, ‘56 Alumna of the Year
1987 William K. Wymond, ‘67 Alumnus of the Year
1988 Janet McDonald, ‘25 Alumna of the Year
1990 Janie G. Rugg, ‘64 Alumna of the Year
1991 Beth Irby Milam, ‘41 Alumna of the Year
1992 Sue Hathorn, ‘77 Alumna of the Year
1993 Catherine K. Teixeira, ‘38 Alumna of the Year
1994 Lynn Stringer, ‘71 Alumnus of the Year
1995 Newt, ’63 and Becky, ‘64 Wilson Alumni of the Year
  Martha Harris Campbell, ‘53 Community Service Award
  Peggy B. Miller, ‘58 Church Service Award
1996 Elizabeth “Tay” P. Wise, ‘37 Alumna of the Year
  Sarah B. Buffington, ‘41 Community Service Award
  Clay, ’74 and Darleen, ’73 Quarterman Church Service Award
1997 Ruth Giles, ‘37 Alumna of the Year
1998 Caroline W. Bennett, ‘33 Alumna of the Year
  Ronald W. McKinney, ‘67 Community Service Award
  William “Buck” Mosal, ‘59 Church Service Award
1999 Gary, ’72 and Susan, ’73 Bouer Alumni of the Year
  Sarah Jane Givens Alston, ‘59 Community Service Award
  Helen S. Martin, ‘61 Church Service Award
2000 William Frisbee, ‘61 Alumnus of the Year
  Ruth W. Brewbaker, ‘88 Community Service Award
  Carolina “Dessie” Anderson Caulfield, ‘38 Church Service Award
2001 Robert “Max” Taylor, Jr., ‘72 Alumnus of the Year
  Mary Evelyn “Ebbie” Spivey, ‘77 Community Service Award
  Mary Elizabeth “Bibby” Swayze, ‘58 Church Service Award
2002 Palmer Robertson, ‘59 Alumnus of the Year
  Stewart Edwards, ‘92 Young Alumnus of the Year
  Shirley C. Hall, ‘90 Community Service Award
  Bebo Elkin, ‘68 Church Service Award
  Mark Windham, ‘77 Jim Park Business Award
  Brenda Wolfe, ‘94 Bettye Quinn Education Award
  Nehemiah Flowers, Jr., ‘97 Distinguised Aspire Award (Jxn.)
  Brian D. White, ‘86 Distinguished Aspire Award (Mem.)
2003 Dominic Aquila, ‘68 Alumnus of the Year
  Margaret Suttle, ‘62 Church Service Award
  Richard Whitlock, ‘82 Community Service Award
  Dale Darden Anderson, ‘78 Bettye Quinn Education Award
  Edward St. Pe, ‘99 Jim Park Business Award
  Michael Holman, ‘91 Young Alumnus of the Year
2004 Sherron George, ‘70 Alumnus of the Year
  Brister Ware, ‘58 Church Service Award
  Kim Sessums, ‘80 Community Service Award
  Joel Bomgaars, ‘03 Young Alumnus of the Year
  Patrick Norman, ‘01 Young Alumus of the Year
  Nathan McNeill, ‘03 Young Alumnus of the Year
  William Dale Nutt, ‘79 Bettye Quinn Education Award
  Bond Christie, ‘77 Jim Park Business Award
  Lee Ann Mayo, ‘99 Distinguished Aspire Award (Jxn)
  Don Gleason, ‘04 Distinguished Aspire Award (Orl.)
2005 Jimmy Turner, ‘58 Alumnus of the Year
  Don Gahagen, ‘59 Church Service Award
  Phil Hardwick, ‘82 Community Service Award
  Barbara Porter, ‘70 Bettye Quinn Education Award
  Timothy M. Quinn, ‘95 Young Alumnus of the Year
2006 George Hunsberger, ‘66 Alumnus of the Year
  Don Elliott, ‘70 Church Service Award
  Ann M. Maynor, ‘61 Community Service Award
  Brian Perry, ‘97 Young Alumnus of the Year
  Leon A. Henry, Jr., ‘75 Bettye Quinn Education Award
2007 Ronald W. McKinney, ‘67 Alumnus of the Year
  Emett H. Barfield, ‘57 Church Service Award
  E.C. Harpe, ‘73 Community Service Award
  Beverly H. Peden, ‘91 Bettye Quinn Education Award
  Michael J. Peters, ‘77 Jim Park Business Award
  Andrew Camenisch, ‘98 Young Alumnus of the Year
2008 J. Joseph Stroble, ‘70 Alumnus of the Year
  John S. Leonard, ‘77 Church Service Award
  Ellza C. Jones, ‘58 Bettye Quinn Education Award
  Emma McCain, ‘32 Community Service Award
  Andrew Mattiace, ‘74 Jim Park Business Award
2009 Mark J. Windham, ‘77 Alumnus of the Year
  Grant F. Callen, ‘05 Young Alumnus of the Year
  Erma E. Driver, ‘04 Community Service Award
  John E. Eichelberger, ‘76 Jim Park Business Award
  Beverly C. Weathersby, ‘78 Bettye Quinn Education Award
  Peggy P. Skattebo Church Service Award
2010 Gregory D. Jordan, ’73 Alumnus of the Year
  Heather L. Ivery, ’00 Young Alumna of the Year
  Florence R. Scott, ’60 Church Service Award
  Corinne Fox, ’63 Community Service Award
  Lynn G. Beck, ’74 Bettye Quinn Education Award
  W. Wayne Husband, ’72 Jim Park Business Award
2011 James “Bebo” Elkin, ’68 Alumnus of the Year
  Brad White, ’06 Young Alumnus of the Year
  Tom Kay, Jr., ’62 Church Service Award
  Evelyn Tackett, ’56 Spirit of Belhaven Award
  Ann Scott, ’77 Bettye Quinn Education Award
  Billy Sims, ’76 Jim Park Business Award
2012 F. Stewart Edwards ‘92 Alumnus of the Year
  Bonnie McDonald Grubbs ‘08 Young Alumnus of the Year
  Thomas R. Patete ‘64 Church Service Award
  Jane Everly ‘85 Bettye Quinn Education Award
  J. Thomas Grantham, Jr. ‘71 Jim Park Business Award