Academic Calendar

Download the following academic calendars (PDF):


FALL SEMESTER 2018
Aug. 21, Tues. Service of Dedication for the School Year at 7:00 p.m. Kickoff Gathering
Aug. 22 – 23, Wed. – Thurs. Faculty Workshop
Aug. 24, Fri. Move-in for new students at 8:30 a.m. 
Aug. 24, Fri. Move-in for returning students at 1:00 p.m.
Aug. 24-27, Fri. – Mon. New Student Orientation
Aug. 24 and 27, Fri. and Mon. Advising & Registration for Fall 2018
Aug. 28, Tues. Traditional day and evening classes begin and 1st Chapel
Sept. 3, Mon. Labor Day Holiday – no classes
Sept. 4, Tues. Last day to add a course, Internship, Independent Study, or change course status to pass/fail, audit
Sept. 4, Tues. Last day to drop a course without a grade
Sept. 6, Thurs. Graduation application deadline for Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 degree completion (Traditional students)
Sept. 21 – 22, Fri. – Sat. Family Weekend
Oct. 6, Sat.  Mid-semester holiday begins at 1:00 p.m.
Oct. 10, Wed. Mid-semester holiday ends at 8:00 a.m.
Oct. 11, Thurs. Mid-semester grades to be posted by 8:30 a.m.
Oct. 22 – 26, Mon – Fri. Advising and Registration for Spring 2019
Nov. 3, Sat. Homecoming 
Nov. 5, Mon. Last day to drop a course with a grade of W
Nov. 21, Wed. Thanksgiving Holiday begins at 8:00 a.m.
Nov. 26, Mon. Thanksgiving Holiday ends at 8:00 a.m.
Nov. 30 – 1, Fri. - Sat. Singing Christmas Tree (Begins at 7:30 p.m. each evening)
Dec. 4, Tues. Last regular class meeting
Dec. 5, Wed. Study Day (No Day-Class Exams)
Dec. 5 – 11, Wed. – Tues. Final Examinations – Begin at 6:00 p.m. Wednesday evening Dec. 5
Dec. 12, Wed. All grades to be posted by 8:30 a.m.
Dec. 13, Thurs. Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m. (all residents with the exception of commencement participants)
Dec. 15, Sat. Commencement for Aug. & Dec. graduates, Jackson at 9:30 a.m.
Dec. 15, Sat. Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m. (for commencement participants)

SPRING SEMESTER 2019
Jan. 5, Sat. Residence Halls open at 8:30 a.m.
Jan. 7, Mon. New Student Orientation at 9:00 a.m.
Jan. 7, Mon. Advising & Registration for Spring 2019
Jan. 8, Tues. Traditional day and evening classes begin
Jan. 14, Mon. Last day to add a course, Internship, Independent Study, or change course status to pass/fail, audit 
Jan. 14, Mon. Last day to drop a course without a grade
Jan. 21, Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday – no day or evening classes
Jan. 31, Thurs. Graduation application deadline for Summer 2019 and Fall 2019 degree completion (Traditional students)
Mar. 1, Fri. Mid-semester grades to be posted by 8:30 a.m.
Mar. 9, Sat. Spring Recess begins at 1 p.m.
Mar. 18, Mon. Spring Recess ends at 8 a.m.
Mar. 19, Tues. Last day to drop a course with a grade of W
Mar. 25 – 29, Mon – Fri. Advising and Registration for May term 2019, Summer I&II 2019, and Fall 2019
Mar. 26, Tues. Honors Convocation: 10:00 - 11:00 a.m.   All other classes from 9:25 a.m. - 12:05 p.m. are cancelled.
Apr. 18, Thurs. Last regular class meeting 
Apr 19 – 23, Fri. – Tues.  Easter Break begins at 8 a.m., April 19 and ends at 8 a.m., April 23
Apr. 23, Tues. Study Day (No Day-Class Exams) evening exams begin at 6:00 p.m.
Apr. 23 – 30, Tues. – Tues. Final Examinations – Begin at 6 p.m. Tuesday Apr. 23
Apr. 30 – May 3, Tues. – Fri. Registration for May term session, Summer I session registration, and Summer II session registration
May 1, Wed. All grades to be posted by 8:30 a.m.
May 2, Thurs. Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m. (all residents with the exception of commencement participants)
May 3, Fri. Senior Reception at the Billy Kim Center in Jackson - 7:00 p.m.
May 4, Sat.  Commencement for May and Aug. graduates at 9:30 a.m. (Traditional) 
May 4, Sat. Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m. (commencement participants)

SUMMER SEMESTER 2019
May 6, Mon. May term classes begin
May 16 – 17, Thurs. – Fri. Registration for Summer I and Summer II sessions
May 17, Fri. May term classes end
May 20, Mon. May term exams
May 21, Tues. Summer I session classes begin
May 27, Mon. Memorial Day Holiday
June  Transfer orientation – date to be confirmed (Fri., June 7 or Fri., June 28)
June 8, Sat. Summer I session – T/R night class (8:00 a.m. until 11:30 a.m.)
June 13 – 14, Thurs, – Fri. Freshmen Orientation
June 21, Fri. Summer I session classes end – Day and M/W & T/R night classes
June 21 – June 24. Fri. & Mon. Registration for Summer II session 
June 24 – 25, Mon. – Tues. Summer I session exams 
June 26, Wed. Summer II session classes begin
June 29 Sat. Summer II session – T/R night class (8:00 a.m. until 11:30 a.m.)
July 4, Thurs. Independence Day Holiday observed- no classes
July 29, Mon. Summer II session classes end – M/W & T/R night classes
July 30 – 31, Tues. – Wed. Summer II session exams 
Aug. 17, Sat. Summer term ends