Belhaven University Home
Site Map |

Theatre Department

The theatre department is accredited by the
National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST).


Minor: Theatre

Social Media: Belhaven on FacebookBelhaven BlogsBelhaven on YouTube

Request Info Apply Now

Contact Information:
Dr. Elissa Sartwell, Department Chair

Building on Belhaven’s outstanding tradition of integrating the arts into Christian higher education, the Theatre Department offers the Bachelor of Arts in Theatre and the Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting and in Musical Theatre. Courses are offered in theatre history, acting, directing, and stagecraft. Practical experience is provided through the wide variety of on-campus productions. To round out their major, students often develop internships and journeyman opportunities with domestic and international theatre companies, missions or ministry venues, all under the supervision of the Belhaven Theatre Department.

It is the mission of the Belhaven University Theatre Department to train servant artists in the use of the art of theatre to serve their Community, their Collaborators, and their Creator. Students must interview or audition for acceptance to the theatre degree program, which is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST).

Meet our new department chair! Dr. Elissa Sartwell will bring her knowledge and love of theatre to Belhaven University as Associate Professor of Theatre and Chair of the Department of Theatre. We sat down with Dr. Sartwell for a Q&A and talked about her love and excitement for Belhaven’s theatre program.