Last Train to Nibroc Theatre Production

Last Train to Nibroc Poster

Click on image to view program.

April 1-5, 2014
Tuesday - Saturday, 7:30 pm
Saturday Matinee, April 5, 2:00 pm
Blackbox Theatre

by Arlene Hutton

December 1940. Aboard an east-bound cross-country train which carries the bodies of great American writers Nathanael West and F. Scott Fitzgerald, two strangers find themselves seated together. Raleigh, an aspiring writer, is on his way to New York, and May, is on her way to become a missionary. The charm of their meeting and budding romance is challenged when the two discover that they are from neighboring Appalachian towns, and they must decide between plans as they are, or catching the train to the Nibroc Festival.

Last Train to Nibroc Scene

Marianne Savell (Director)
Recent directing projects include Henry V (Belhaven), Bill W. & Dr. Bob (Fish Tale Group Theatre), Barefoot in the Park (Tidewater Stage, Virginia) and An Inspector Calls (Americana Theatre Company, Massachusetts). Marianne is an associate artist with Taproot Theatre Company in Seattle, WA and was the Producing Director of Actors Co-op in Hollywood, CA. She received her MFA in Acting from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and is an Assistant Professor in the theatre department at Belhaven University.

Arlene Hutton (Playwright)
is best known as the author of The Nibroc Trilogy, which includes Last Train to Nibroc (New York Drama League Best Play nomination), See Rock City (In the Spirit of America Award), and Gulf View Drive (LA Weekly and Ovation Award nominations). Regional credits include Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park, B Street Theatre, Kitchen Theatre, Echo Theatre, Florida Studio Theatre and Chester Theatre. Her plays have been presented at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, Off- and Off-Off-Broadway and at theatres across the US, in London and throughout the world. Other works include Running, I Dream Before I Take the Stand, Letters to Sala, Parhelia and As It Is In Heaven. Her play for young audiences, Happy Worst Day Ever, was commissioned by Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park and winner of the 2010 Macy’s New Play Prize. An alumna of New Dramatists, Hutton is a member of Dramatists Guild, six-time Actors Theatre of Louisville 10-Minute Play Contest finalist, three-time winner of the Samuel French Short Play Festival, finalist for the Francesca Primus Prize and recipient of the Lippman and Calloway Awards. Residencies include the Australian National Playwrights Conference, New Harmony Project, Blue Mountain Center, MacDowell Colony, and Yaddo. Hutton has been a William Inge Fellow in Kansas, resident playwright for Greenville Centre Stage’s New Play Festival, and twice named the Tennessee Williams Fellow in Playwrighting at the University of the South. Her scripts are published by Dramatists Play Service, Samuel French, Dramatic Publishing and Playscripts, and appear in numerous anthologies. Born in Bogalusa, LA, Hutton spent her first few years in Poplarville, MS.

Ethan Polson - Raleigh
Jessica Ziegelbauer - May
Craig Fairbanks - Raleigh understudy
Jasmine Calvert - May understudy

Advisor - Bonnie McNair
House Manager - Lauren Tobinuu

Advisor - Bonnie McNair
Program Cover & Poster Design - Crystal Smith
Program Layout & Design - Margret Hollis

Box Office Manager - Bonnie McNair
Box Office Staff - Daniel Wimberly

Head Carpenter - Lauren Tobin
Carpenter/Construction Crew - Andrew Bakarich, Paige Dawkins,
Adam Dunnells, Frannie Maas, Crockett Ward, Megan Cash, Jill Cromwell,
Ethan Polson, Courtney Rodgers, Melissa Rey & Jasmine Calvert
Scenery Crew - Brandon Shoots

Faculty Advisor - Rebekah Bert
Properties Master - Eric Henderson
Props Construction Crew - Hannah Gaudet,
Madison Parrott & James Kenyon

Master Electricians - Margret Hollis & Thaddeus Morris
Lighting Crew - Conner Bingham, Craig Fairbanks, Alex Fortin,
Morgan Hillman & Courtney Hollifield
Light Board Operator - Lizy Hurlbert
Sound Board Operators - Josh Noe & Theo Lott

Faculty Advisor - Nadine Grant
Stitchers - John Alford, Zak Blatche, Leigha Ellis, Hannah Gaudet,
Morgan Johnson, Laina Faul, Sonja Hakkinen, Theo Lott, Josh Pirtle,
Lizy Hurlbert, Te-J Thompson, Alesia Sterling & Stephanie Salinas

Back to 2013-2014 Theatre Schedule.

View Theatre Playlist on YouTube. Belhaven Theatre on YouTube