Gifted Performers & Creators

In the gallery, the ​​dance studios, the concert hall, the recital hall, and the flexible theatre, a rich and diverse arts season awaits you at Belhaven University.

lighted fairy in front of the singing Christmas tree

​​​​​Singing Christmas Tree

This annual event​ held during the first weekend in December.​ ​S​tarted in 1933, the Belhaven Singing Christmas Tree is considered to be the world's oldest outdoor singing Christmas tree tradition. Members of the Belhaven Concert Choir, along with alumni, faculty, and staff, typically perform the outdoor Singing Christmas Tree concert on the first weekend in December. A large new 35 foot tall wooden and metal tree structure accommodates up to 100 singers. 

Attend This Beloved Belhaven Tradition

1/3 Student Artists & Performers

One-third of Belhaven’s traditional undergraduate students participate in arts classes and events

Over 50 Arts Events Annually

Dance and music recitals, plays and musicals, film screenings, holiday concerts, and more

4 Art Galleries/Exhibitions

Belhaven’s student artists display their craft in modern, high-tech arts facilities in the heart of campus

YouTube Video Thumbnail

The School of Fine Arts: Belhaven University

Bitsy Irby Visual Arts & Dance Center

The 42,756-square-foot Bitsy Irby Visual Arts & Dance Center is a best-in-class facility featuring five professional dance studios, a fully equipped dance performance theatre, computer design labs, photography studios and darkroom, painting, drawing and sculpture studios, faculty offices, and a beautiful art gallery. 


The Center for the Arts

The Center for the Arts — home to Belhaven’s music and theatre departments — features piano and computer labs, ​soundproof​ practice rooms, a flexible black box theatre, costuming and technical design areas, and numerous teaching studios, classrooms, faculty offices, and performance spaces.

The 800-seat concert hall holds weekly chapel services as well as numerous performances throughout the year. 

Academic Degrees: The Scholarly Approach to the Arts

1 of 39 colleges accredited in all of the arts

National Distinction

Belhaven University is one of only 39 colleges or universities in the U.S. nationally accredited in all four major areas of the arts: Visual Arts, Dance, Theatre, and Music. 

Verse of the Year

God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases Him.

Philippians 2:13