Wescott wins Ferriss TrophyMay 19, 2009—Belhaven senior pitcher Craig Westcott was named the winner of 2009 Cellular South Ferriss Trophy. This prestigious trophy is awarded each year to Mississippi’s top college baseball player as determined by Major League scouts, college coaches and a media representative. Westcott was presented with the award Monday night in a ceremony at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Hall Fame.

Westcott, a native of Chalmette, LA, finished the 2009 season with a record of 11-4 and an ERA of 3.29. Westcott struck out 121 batters, which is a new Belhaven record for most strikeouts in a season. He also has seven complete games, five shutouts, two no hitters and held opposing hitters to a .199 batting average. Westcott has surrendered only 27 walks in 90.1 innings of work this season. Offensively, Westcott led the team with a .343 batting average and 65 RBI’s. Westcott was second on the team in home runs with 11 and paced the Blazers with a .618 slugging percentage.

The other two finalists were RHP Scott Bittle from Ole Miss and infielder Brian Dozier from Southern Mississippi. The award is named after Boston Red Sox and Mississippi Sports Hall of Famer Dave “Boo” Ferriss. For information about the Hall of Fame, contact the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame Museum at 1-800-280-FAME (3263).