10th Annual Mississippi Guitar Festival poster

January 25, 2012 (Jackson)- The 10th Annual Mississippi Guitar Festival is coming to Belhaven University this year.

The guitar festival is the state's only collegiate conference on the art of classical guitar and it attracts guitar students, professionals, hobbyists and enthusiasts statewide, but you don't have to be one of those to enjoy this fun festival.

Amy Houghton, Adjunct Professor of Classical Guitar, said, “The Mississippi Guitar Festival has not been held in Jackson since 2006, but this February it will be right at your doorstep. For both musicians and music lovers, the festival holds something for everyone. The classical guitar is a particularly beautiful instrument, one that you may not hear every day. Take the opportunity to make new friends, expand your knowledge of music, and meet the classical guitarists of Mississippi.“

Several different Mississippi colleges are sponsoring and participating in the annual event happening on February 9 and 10 at the Belhaven Center for the Arts.

This free festival will include several events; master classes, lectures, concerts, and competitions. Students around the state will try to take first place and $500 dollars in an advanced guitar competition.

Every year an internationally acclaimed guest artist is invited to attend. This year Pablo Garibay from Mexico will perform. Some students will get to meet and take guitar lessons with Garibay. Other artists from past festivals have included Ricardo Cobo, Florian Larousse, William Kanengiser, Denis Azabagic, Adam Holzman, and Jason Vieaux.

All of the participating faculty from the different universities will perform together for a special concert on the first night of the festival. The faculty concert will include:

Amy Houghton- Belhaven University and Copiah-Lincoln Community College

Nicholas Ciraldo- University of Southern Mississippi

Michael Boyd- Jones County Junior College

John Ingwerson- Hinds Community College

Trevor Hunt- Pearl River Community College

Michael Yates- Holmes Community College

Mitch Brantley- Meridian Community College