Service of Dedication


Musicians playing during Service of Dedication

August 17, 2012 (Jackson) - This year's annual Service of Dedication was an encouraging start to the upcoming year at Belhaven University. Faculty, staff, and friends joined together for the kick-off ceremony on Wednesday, August 15 in the Center for the Arts.

Attendees enjoyed a special medley performed by Dr. Christopher Shelt, scripture reading, time of worship, and reception afterwards. The event streamed live to the other Belhaven campuses in Memphis, Chattanooga, Houston, Orlando, and Atlanta.

As a new addition to the clock ceremony, Dr. Parrott honored the faculty and staff who have faithfully served for 5, 10 and 15 years by taking time to talk about each person before they received their clock award.

Dr. Parrott's challenge for the school year was based on the new verse of the year, Ecclesiastes 3:1. “To everything there is a season, a time for every purpose under heaven.” At the beginning of the address, he talked about the many challenges Fitzhugh Hall created, but how he saw God going ahead of us preparing the way for Fitzhugh's renovations and new science facility.

He then spoke about the verse of the year and said, “It gives us a vision for the bigger picture of God's plan for our lives by framing are joys and challenges in terms of seasons. When we understand that concept, then the seasons becomes applicable, meaningful and something we can live everyday. We must learn how to breathe through the seasons. When we understand breathing through the seasons, we catch the rhythm of God's purpose in our lives.”

2012 Clock Recipients:

Five Years of Service
Mr. Alex Ainsworth-Assistant Men's Basketball Coach
Mrs. Becky Cochran-Conference Services Coordinator
Ms. Susan Dick - Campus Coordinator - Memphis
Mr. Jake Donald-Associate Director of Admission
Mr. Steve Farmer-Director of Security
Mrs. Eloise Fields-Housekeeping
Mr. Charles Gaudin-Librarian
Dr. Paxton Girtmon-Associate Professor of Music
Mr. Wayne Green-Director of Maintenance
Ms. Gretchen Haien-Associate Professor of Art
Dr. Audrey Kelleher-Vice President of Adult & Graduate Enrollment and Student Services
Mrs. Sandra Kelly-Director of Student Services
Mrs. Ginger Keys-System Administrator
Mrs. Dana Marsalis-Head Cheerleader Coach
Mr. James Massey-Grounds Supervisor
Dr. Lydia McCardle-Professor of Education
Mr. Michael McGeown-Community Soccer Coach
Mr. Terry McInnis-Computer Technician
Ms. Veronica Miniel-Garcia-Associate Director of Student Services - Houston Campus
Dr. Donna Noblitt-Professor of Teacher Education & Director of Grad Teacher Ed.
Mr. Arthur Park-Locksmith
Mr. Daniel Shaw-Assistant Director of Admission
Mrs. Amanda Slaughter-Assistant Vice President for Adult and Graduate Enrollment and Student Services
Dr. Bill Sumrall- Associate Professor of Business - Memphis Campus
Mr. Kevin Taylor-Maintenance Technician
Mr. Ricky White-Maintenance Technician

Ten Years of Service
Mrs. Anna Blaylock-Student Financial Planning Records Analyst
Miss Tanya Brieger-ASPIRE Director of Enrollment Services
Mr. Charlie Matthews, Jr.-Sr. Shift Supervisor - Campus Security
Dr. Paul Reese, Jr.-Associate Professor of Biology
Mr. Clay Smith-Assistant Head Baseball Coach
Miss Shekaria Summers-Accounts Payable Administrator
Mr. Nate Theisen-Professor of Art

Fifteen Years of Service
Mr. Chris Cullnane, II-Director of Libraries
Mrs. Doreen Fagerheim-Director of Web Services
Mrs. Virginia Henderson-Chief Financial Officer
Dr. Don Hubele-Associate Professor & Chair of English Department

Twenty Years of Service
Mrs. Linda Phillips-Assistant Vice President for University Advancement. The Lord called Linda Phillips home on May 31 of this year after a battle with cancer. Her husband, William Thomas Phillips, previous Vice President of Campus Operations, accepted the clock in her honor.