April 11, 2012 (Chattanooga) - Belhaven University Chattanooga recently inducted 27 new members into Alpha Sigma Lambda (ASL), the premier national honor society for non-traditional adult students.

This honor society is for students who achieve and maintain academic excellence and leadership characteristics while managing the responsibilities to family, work, and the community.

To become a member, students must have earned a minimum of 24 semester hours in an undergraduate degree program at Belhaven University and be in the top twenty percent of eligible students.

The Lambda Xi Chapter at Belhaven annually invites outstanding adult undergraduate students on the Chattanooga, Memphis, Orlando, Houston, and Jackson campuses into the honor society as a way to recognize and to inspire high scholastic achievement.

The founding chapter was established at Northwestern University in 1946 and has more than 300 active ASL chapters in the United States. The following students were inducted into the Alpha Sigma Lambda Chattanooga chapter:

Ryan Bevil
Nicole Billings
Jason Branim
Cindy Carden
Ray Carter
Jennifer Crisp
Joseph Culbert
Briana English
Annette Evans
Phillip Guffey
Kenneth Harper
Christine Henson
Cecelia Hixon
Caryn Hulett
Betty Jackson
Jon King
Timothy Land
Anna Moody
Debra Moore
Jon St. Hilaire
Kimberly Stephens
James Trey Sullivan
Scott Wells
Michelle White
Angela O. Williams
Yvette Betty Wing
Tinisha Wordlaw

Belhaven stands among the select Christian colleges and universities that offer a unique general core curriculum encouraging the development of a personal worldview. The university believes a Christian worldview is a key to preparing men and women academically and spiritually to serve Christ Jesus in their careers, in human relationships, and in the world of ideas.

Founded in 1883, Belhaven University now serves over 3,000 students from campuses in Jackson, Memphis, Orlando, Houston, Chattanooga, Atlanta and online, offering traditional undergraduate degrees, graduate and adult degree programs, and online degree programs.