August 28, 2014 (Jackson) - Belhaven University President Dr. Roger Parrott was honored for his contributions to education in Mississippi at the 11th Annual Image Awards Program and Scholarship Banquet.The event, hosted by the Mu Sigma Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma and honoring the Mississippi Kidney Foundation, recognized the accomplishments of many outstanding community leaders over the past ten years.The 2014 recipients included:

Leland Speed (business)
Rev. Haywood Hannah (religion)
Richard Schwartz (law)
Howard Ballou (media)
Dr. Justin Turner (medicine)
Dr. Roger Parrott (education)
Hollis Watkins (community service)

Dr. Parrott, said, “I lead a university whose motto is 'to serve, not to be served' and to be honored by the Mu Sigma Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma., who embodies service in everything they do, is of great significance to me.”