Belhaven to Honor 2019 Alumni Award WinnersOctober 31, 2019 (Jackson, Miss) - Belhaven University has announced the winners of the 2019 Alumni Awards. The University will honor the award recipients during the 2019 Alumni Awards Reception on Friday, November 8 at 5:30 p.m. in the Dr. Billy Kim International Center. This event will kick-offBelhaven University's Homecoming 2019.

A total of 11 awards highlight alumni who are thriving in their careers, life and service. The 2019 Alumni Award winners are listed below.


Alumnus of the Year - Matt S. Buchanan
To a distinguished alumnus who has achieved excellence in their field of service and embodies Belhaven University's mission in their life and work.

Young Alumnus of the Year - John S. Sima Jr.
To a recent graduate of the past decade that pursues excellence in their field and has achieved success as a younger leader.

Spirit of Belhaven Award - Matthew Nasekos
To an alumnus who exemplifies the heart of Belhaven University's mission “to serve and not be served.”This designation honors a servant leader of distinction who embraces Belhaven's mission and serves Christ Jesus in their career, in human relationships, and in the world of ideas.


Bettye Quinn Education Award - DeSean K. Dyson
To a Belhaven School of Education graduate who reflects Ms. Quinn's dedication, commitment, and loyalty to teaching and service to their community.

Ministry Influence Award - Mike Dixon
To a graduate who has been influential in their pastoral or service-ministry, building the Kingdom through their work.

STEM Distinction Award - Vicki Moorehead
To a Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics graduate that has achieved significant success in their professional role, and encourages a Christian worldview while discovering innovations and best practices in their field.

Entrepreneurial Award - Alex Riser
To a servant leader entrepreneur who has proven success in business - profit or non-profit - and demonstrates a commitment to ethical leadership in the marketplace.

Arts Excellence Award - Karen Castleman
To a graduate who has achieved excellence in the Arts professionally, and honors the Lord through their creativity.


World Service Award- Stuart Mills
To an alumnus of distinct Christian character who impacts the broken world through their service to Christ and others by serving the oppressed, by advocating equality and justice, or by offering faith-based humanitarian relief.

Church Service Award - Robert Griffin
To honor an alum who has effectively worked cross-culturally to carry the Gospel message.

Community Service Award - Rep. Ronnie C. Crudup, Jr
To an alumnus whose mature understanding of the Christian faith, has been instrumental in their commitment to build their local community.