Phi Theta Kappa 2020April 14, 2020 (Jackson, Miss.) - For the second consecutive year, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) has nationally recognized Belhaven University for its commitment to transfer students. The distinction honors four-year institutions that develop pathways to excellence and success among community college transfer students.

Belhaven is one of 123 colleges and universities in the United States named to PTK's 2020 Transfer Honor Roll.

“The Transfer Honor Roll reflects the growing importance of recognizing and responding to the needs of transfer students,” Phi Theta Kappa President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner said. “This award is given to four-year colleges and universities with proven outcomes for transfer success. They are the best at providing a supportive and smooth transition from community college - equating to increased rates of bachelor's degree attainment for transfer students.”

Belhaven University was included with other prestigious colleges and universities such as Arizona State University, Dallas Baptist University, Mississippi State University, Rollins College, University of Arizona, and University of Illinois.

This distinguished honor is awarded to the top 25% of four-year colleges who earned the highest Transfer Friendliness Ratings. Potential students use Phi Theta Kappa's online tool PTK Connect to find their best-fit colleges, career pathways, and more. They can search for colleges by name, scholarship offerings, or cost, and they can use the Transfer Friendly Ratings to help evaluate where they would like to enroll.

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 10 nations.