Clock Ceremony 2016August 26, 2016 (Jackson, Miss.) - For over 20 years, Belhaven has honored its employees during its annual service of dedication. Faculty, staff and friends joined together on Wednesday night, August 17 for the 2016 Service of Dedication in the Dr. Billy Kim International Center.

Serving others is at the heart of what makes Belhaven unique and one of the ceremony's highlights was the Celebration of Faithful Service. A total of 45 honorees were presented with clocks as a reminder of the time they spent faithfully serving the University and its students. The awards recognized staff and faculty for every five-year increment of work.

Faculty members such as Ms. Bettye Quinn, associate professor of education and director of elementary education, have worked at Belhaven for 50 years. After a standing ovation, Ms. Quinn was awarded a hand-crafted chair. Dr. William Penn, Jr., professor of economics and business, was awarded a special clock for 35 years of service, and Mr. Lenard Schaffer, Jr. was recognized and awarded for his 20 years of service as a housekeeper at Belhaven. A list of this year's recipients is below.

Five Years of Service

Dr. Howard Bartee, Jr., Dr. G. Reid Bishop, Mrs. Theresa Dolansky, Mr. Tim English, Mrs. Monica French, Mr. Kevin Griffin, Mr. David Harbaugh, Mrs. Alicia K. Harper, Ms. Debra Hartfield, Mr. Timothy Newbrander, Mr. Gregory Palmer, Mrs. Kathleen Perrett, Mr. Altonius Peterson, Mr. David Sprayberry, Dr. Jolivette Wallace

Ten Years of Service

Mr. Nathaniel Cannon, Ms. Sherry Collins, Dr. Angela K. Gaddis, Ms. Glenda Taylor Grant, Mr. Rodney Grayson, Ms. Callie Hampton, Ms. Marquita Hampton, Ms. Monique Harris, Mr. Gregory L. Hawkins, Ms. Laura Lovell, Mr. Bo Miller, Mrs. Jennifer Roach Reese, Dr. Sandra Van Pelt, Mrs. Ravenna Tucker Wagnon, Mr. Michael Wells

Fifteen Years of Service

Mr. Frank Dolansky, Mrs. Lori Farmer, Dr. Melissa Thorson, Mrs. Erica Johnson, Mr. Scott Little, Ms. Vicki Pitts, Mr. David Potvin, Dr. Randall Smith, Dr. Scott White

Twenty Years of Service

Mr. Lenard Schaffer, Jr.

Thirty-five Years of Service

Dr. William Penn, Jr.

Fifty Years of Service

Ms. Bettye Quinn

The 2016-2017 Belhaven University Verse of the Year is from Psalm 127:1. “Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it will labor in vain. Unless the Lord guards the city, the guard keeps watch in vain.” During the program, Belhaven President Dr. Roger Parrott spoke about the significance of the verse and its application. He gave an encouraging look at the growth the University has experienced and God's constant provision in challenging times. Below is a video of Dr. Parrott's annual address to faculty and staff.