alumni awards 2022September 8, 2022 (Jackson, Miss.) - Belhaven University has announced the winners of its 2022 Alumni Awards. The University will honor recipients during the Alumni Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 21 at 5:30 p.m. in the Dr. Billy Kim International Center.

This event is part of Belhaven University's Homecoming and Family Weekend 2022 and highlights alumni who are successfully living out the University's mission, “To serve, not to be served.” All are invited to meet and celebrate with these award recipients. A total of 12 awards highlight alumni who are thriving in their careers, life, and service.

Belhaven University's 2022 Alumni Award winners are listed below.


Alumnus of the Year - Gabriel Prado Contreras '11, MPA '13
To a distinguished alumnus who has achieved excellence in their field of service and embodies Belhaven University's mission in their life and work.

Young Alumnus of the Year - Shellie Brown Kemp '12
To a recent graduate of the past decade that pursues excellence in their field and has achieved success as a younger leader.

Spirit of Belhaven - Bill Lytton '72
To an alumnus who exemplifies the heart of Belhaven University's mission “to serve and not be served.” This designation honors a servant leader of distinction who embraces Belhaven's mission and serves Christ Jesus in their career, in human relationships, and in the world of ideas.


Bettye Quinn Education Award - Elizabeth Baxter Sugg '69
To a Belhaven School of Education graduate who reflects Ms. Quinn's dedication, commitment, and loyalty to teaching and service to their community.

Business Success Award - Christian Patterson '04
To a graduate of the Belhaven School of Business who integrates Christian values and ethics in the marketplace. A servant leader committed to excellence and dedication to serving others.

Ministry Influence Award - Frances Fitler '52
To a graduate who has been influential in their pastoral or service-ministry, building the Kingdom through their work.

Scholarship Excellence Award - Tyler Hogan '08
To a graduate who has excelled in scholarship, in or outside the academy, and encourages learning and study from a biblical worldview.

Entrepreneurial Award - Adam Pierce
To a servant leader entrepreneur who has proven success in business - profit or non-profit - and demonstrates a commitment to ethical leadership in the marketplace.

Arts Excellence Award - Cheri Gossman-Orr '00; Kristopher Orr '01
To a graduate who has achieved excellence in the Arts professionally and honors the Lord through their creativity.


World Service Award - Fred Reid, Jr. '85
To an alumnus of distinct Christian character who impacts the broken world through their service to Christ and others by serving the oppressed, by advocating equality and justice, or by offering faith-based humanitarian relief.

Church Service Award - Joseph Parker '81
To honor an alum who has effectively worked cross-culturally to carry the Gospel message.

Community Service Award - Charlotte Wingard '19, '21
To an alumnus whose mature understanding of the Christian faith, has been instrumental in their commitment to build their local community.