Belhaven University Announces 2023 Alumni Award Winners

September 19, 2023 (Jackson, Miss.) - Belhaven University has announced its 2023 Alumni Award winners. The University will honor this year’s recipients during the Alumni Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 20 at 5:30 p.m. in the Dr. Billy Kim International Center.

This event is part of Belhaven University's Homecoming and Family Weekend 2023 and highlights alumni who are successfully living out the University's mission, “To serve, not to be served.” All are invited to meet and celebrate with these award recipients. A total of nine awards highlight alumni who are thriving in their careers, life, and service.

Belhaven University's 2023 Alumni Award winners are listed below.


Alumnus of the Year - Dr. Harrison Scott Key ‘97
To a distinguished alumnus who has achieved excellence in their field of service and embodies Belhaven University's mission in their life and work.

Young Alumnus of the Year - Dr. Sixbert Muhoza ‘15
To a recent graduate of the past decade that pursues excellence in their field and has achieved success as a younger leader.

Spirit of Belhaven - Thomas Jackson ‘91
To an alumnus who exemplifies the heart of Belhaven University's mission “to serve and not be served.” This designation honors a servant leader of distinction who embraces Belhaven's mission and serves Christ Jesus in their career, in human relationships, and in the world of ideas.


Bettye Quinn Education Award - Kim Duhs ‘80
To a Belhaven School of Education graduate who reflects Ms. Quinn's dedication, commitment, and loyalty to teaching and service to their community.

Business Success Award - Aileen Thomas, J.D. ‘91
To a graduate of the Belhaven School of Business who integrates Christian values and ethics in the marketplace. A servant leader committed to excellence and dedication to serving others.

Ministry Influence Award - Chuck McArthur ‘81
To a graduate who has been influential in their pastoral or service-ministry, building the Kingdom through their work.

STEM Distinction Award - Dr. Jarrett Morgan ‘10
To a science, technology, engineering, or mathematics graduate that has achieved significant success in their professional role, and encourages a Christian worldview while discovering innovations and best practices in their field.

Entrepreneurial Award - Cade Trisler ‘95
To a servant leader entrepreneur who has proven success in business - profit or non-profit - and demonstrates a commitment to ethical leadership in the marketplace.

Arts Excellence Award - Jocelyn Zhu ‘14
To a graduate who has achieved excellence in the Arts professionally and honors the Lord through their creativity.