Music Department Faculty

Full-time Faculty and Staff

Doran Bugg Dr. Doran Bugg (2019)
Chair of Music Department; Worship Arts Director

dbugg@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, Music Office

Bachelor of Music Education, University of MS;
Master of Music (Percussion), Baylor University;
Doctor of Musical Arts, Louisiana State University
Jennifer Reese Mrs. Jennifer Reese (2006)
Music Department Administrator Assistant

jrreese@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, Music Office

Bachelors of Science (Business Administration), Jackson State University;
(In Progress) Master of Science (Leadership), Belhaven University
Paxton Girtmon  Dr. Paxton Girtmon (2007)
Director of Music Education; Jazz and Wind Ensemble Director; Professor of Musicianship, Conducting, Music Appreciation

pgirtmon@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 108A

Bachelor of Music Education, Northwestern State University;
Master of Music in Education, Northwestern State University;
Doctor of Musical Arts (Instrumental Conducting), University of Southern Mississippi
Casey Kirk Mr. Casey Kirk (2016)
Director of Blazer Marching and Pep Bands; Wind Ensemble Co-Director

ckirk@belhaven.edu

Wilson Hall, 219

Bachelor of Music Education, Mississippi College;
Master of Music (Percussion), University of Southern Mississippi;
Commander, 41st Army Band, MS Army National Guard
Andrew Sauerwein Dr. Andrew Sauerwein (2005)
Director of Musical Composition Area; Professor of Music Theory, Musicianship, & Composition

asauerwein@belhaven.edu

Center of the Arts, 104

Associate of Arts (Biblical Studies), Multnomah University;
Bachelor of Music (Composition), University of Oregon;
Master of Music (Composition), University of Oregon;
Master of Arts (Composition), Duke University;
Doctorate of Philosophy (Composition), Duke University
Song Xie Mr. Song Xie (2005)
Director of Strings Area; BU Orchestra Director; Mississippi Symphony Orchestra

xsong@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 112

Bachelor of Arts in Violin Performance, GuangXi Institute of Arts and Shanghai Conservatory of Music;
Master of Music in Violin Performance, Louisiana State University

 

Specialty Faculty

Rebecca Geihsler-Chittom Dr. Rebecca Geihsler-Chittom (2009)
Instructor of Voice; Voice Area Coordinator

rgeihsler@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 106

Bachelor of Arts in Music, Centenary College;
Master of Music in Vocal Performance, University of Mississippi;
Doctor of Arts in Vocal Pedagogy, University of Mississippi
Owen Rockwell Dr. Owen Rockwell (2006)
Instructor of Percussion; Dance Department Musical Director

orockwell@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 110

Bachelor of Music (Percussion Performance),   University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign;
Master of Music (Percussion Performance), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign;
Doctor of Musical Arts (Percussion Performance and Pedagogy), University of Southern Mississippi

 

Adjunct Faculty

Adam Almeter Mr. Adam Almeter (2015)
Instructor of Low Brass; Mississippi Symphony Orchestra

aalmeter@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 108B

Bachelor of Music, Indiana University
Nancy Bateman Mrs. Nancy Bateman (2005)
Instructor of Cello; Mississippi Symphony Orchestra

nbateman@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 108B

Bachelor of Music, Wichita State University;
Master of Music, Wichita State University
Dennis Bonds Mr. Dennis Bonds (2009)
Instructor of Jazz Guitar

dbonds@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 110

Bachelor of Music, Belhaven University;
Master of Ministry Leadership, Belhaven University
Richard Brown Mr. Richard Brown (2008)
Instructor of String Bass; Mississippi Symphony Orchestra

rbrown@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 108B

Bachelor of Music (Education), University of Memphis;
Master of Music (Bass Performance), DePaul University
Carol Durham Mrs. Carol Durham (2005)
Instructor of Organ

cdurham@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music (Organ), Mississippi College;
Master of Music (Organ), University of Tennessee at Knoxville
Doug Eltzroth Mr. Douglas Eltzroth (2003)
Chapel Worship and Arts Director

deltzroth@belhaven.edu

Shoebird Café (Student Center)
Trailand Eltzroth Mr. Trailand Eltzroth (2020)
Chapel Worship; Instructor of Songwriting

teltzroth@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music (Composition), Belhaven University;
Masters of Music (Composition), Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama
Ken Graves Mr. Ken Graves (2010)
Instructor of Clarinet; Mississippi Symphony Orchestra

kgraves@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 120A/108B

Bachelor of Music, University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music;
Master of Music, University of Souther California
Chrissy Hrivnak Mrs. Chrissy Hrivnak (2010)
Instructor of Voice

chrivnak@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 116

Bachelor of Music, Millsaps College;
Master of Music, University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music;
Doctoral of Musical Arts, University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music
Miss Margaret Ingram (2015)
Instructor of Jazz Piano

mingram@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 116

Bachelor of Music, University of Southern Mississippi;
Jazz Studies, University of North Texas
Anna Johnson Mrs. Anna Johnson (2019)
Instructor of Voice; BU Chorale Co-Director

ajohnson@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 106/120A

Bachelor of Music in Vocal Performance, Mississippi College;
Master of Music in Vocal Performance and Pedagogy, Mississippi College
Tanja Miric Dr. Tanja Miric
Instructor of Classical Guitar; Professor of Music Theory

tmiric@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 110

Bachelors of Arts, Mississippi College;
Master of Music, Southern Methodist University;
Doctoral of Arts, University of Minnesota
Katie Moody Mrs. Katie Moody (2014)
Staff Accompanist; Instructor of Piano

kmoody@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 118

Bachelor of Arts in Music, Belhaven University;
(In Progress) Master of Music (Piano Performance), Mississippi College
Stephen Sachs Dr. Stephen Sachs (2014)
Professor Emeritus of Music; Director of Piano Area

ssachs@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 118

Bachelor of Science (Music Education),Lebanon Valley College;
Bachelor of Arts (Piano), Lebanon Valley College;
Master of Music (Piano), Ohio University;
Doctor of Musical Arts, The Catholic University of America
Lloyd Turner Mr. Lloyd Turner (2010)
Instructor of Trumpet

lturner@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 108B

Bachelor of Music Education, University of Southern Mississippi;
Master of Trumpet Performance, University of Mississippi;
Specialist of Music Education, University of Mississippi
Sarah Waters Mrs. Sarah Waters (2016)
Instructor of Voice and Piano; Professor of Music History

swaters@belhaven.edu

Center for the Arts, 116

Bachelors of Arts in History, Goucher College;
Masters of Music Education, Jackson State University