Music Department Faculty

Full-time Faculty and Staff

Rebecca Guishler

Dr. Rebecca Geihsler-Chittom (2009)
Associate Professor of Music, Interim Chair of Music and Voice Area Coordinator

rgeihsler@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, 101

Bachelor of Arts in Music, Centenary College; 
Master of Music in Vocal Performance, University of Mississippi;
Doctor of Arts in Vocal Pedagogy, University of Mississippi

Chrissy Hrivnak

Mrs. Chrissy Hrivnak (2010)
Assistant Professor of Music (Voice) and Musical Theatre

chrivnak@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, 106

Bachelor of Music, Millsaps College;
Master of Music, University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music;
Doctor of Musical Arts, University of Cincinnati College–Conservatory of Music (in progress)

Casey Kirk

Mr. Casey Kirk (2016)
Assistant Professor of Music and Director of Bands, Coordinator of Music Education, Instrumental Music, and Recruitment.

ckirk@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, 108A

Bachelor of Music Education, Mississippi College;
Master of Music (Percussion), University of Southern Mississippi;
Commander, 41st Army Band, MS Army National Guard

Andrew Sauerwein

Dr. Andrew Sauerwein (2005)
Professor of Music (Composition/Theory)

asauerwein@belhaven.edu
Center of the Arts, 104

Associate of Arts (Biblical Studies), Multnomah University;
Bachelor of Music (Composition), University of Oregon;
Master of Music (Composition), University of Oregon;
Master of Arts (Composition), Duke University;
Doctorate of Philosophy (Composition), Duke University

Song Xie

Mr. Song Xie (2005)
Professor of Music (Violin/Viola/Chamber music ), Director of string area, Conductor of BU Symphony Orchestra

xsong@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, 112

Bachelor of Arts in Violin Performance, GuangXi Institute of Arts and Shanghai Conservatory of Music; 
Master of Music in Violin Performance, Louisiana State University

 

Specialty Faculty

Katie Moody

Mrs. Katie Moody (2014)
Instructor of Piano, Coordinator of Collaborative Piano

kmoody@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, 118

Bachelor of Arts in Music, Belhaven University; 
Master of Music (Piano Performance), Mississippi College

Owen Rockwell

Dr. Owen Rockwell (2006)
Instructor of Percussion; Dance Department Musical Director

orockwell@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, 110

Bachelor of Music (Percussion Performance), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign;
Master of Music (Percussion Performance), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign;
Doctor of Musical Arts (Percussion Performance and Pedagogy), University of Southern Mississippi

 

Adjunct Faculty

Nancy Bateman

Mrs. Nancy Bateman (2005)
Instructor of Cello

nbateman@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music, Wichita State University;
Master of Music, Wichita State University

Olivia Boatman

Dr. Olivia Boatman (2021)
Instructor of Flute

oboatman@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music Education, Mississippi State University;
Master of Music, Arkansas State University;
Doctor of Music, Florida State University

Dennis Bonds

Mr. Dennis Bonds (2009)
Instructor of Jazz Guitar

dbonds@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, 110

Bachelor of Music, Belhaven University;
Master of Ministry Leadership, Belhaven University

Richard Brown

Mr. Richard Brown (2008)
Instructor of String Bass

rbrown@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music (Education), University of Memphis;
Master of Music (Bass Performance), DePaul University

Carol Durham

Mrs. Carol Durham (2005)
Instructor of Organ

cdurham@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music (Organ), Mississippi College;
Master of Music (Organ), University of Tennessee at Knoxville

Mr. Warren Ertle
Instructor of Piano

wertle@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music (Composition), Mississippi College;
Master of Music (Composition), Boston Conservatory at Berklee;
(In progress) Doctor of Musical Arts (Composition), University of Alabama

Doug Eltzroth

Mr. Douglas Eltzroth (2003)
Chapel Worship and Arts Director

deltzroth@belhaven.edu
Shoebird Café (Student Center)

Ken Graves

Mr. Ken Graves (2010)
Instructor of Clarinet

kgraves@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music, University of Cincinnati College–Conservatory of Music;
Master of Music, University of Southern California

Mandy Mangrum

Ms. Mandy Mangrum
Instructor of Harp

mjones@belhaven.edu
mississippiharpist@gmail.com
Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music, Louisiana State University;
Master of Music Performance, University of North Texas

Tanja Miric

Dr. Tanja Miric
Instructor of Classical Guitar

tmiric@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, 110

Bachelors of Arts, Mississippi College;
Master of Music, Southern Methodist University;
Doctoral of Arts, University of Minnesota

Mrs. Helen Rettger
Instructor of Trombone

hrettger@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music Education, University of Southern Mississippi;
Master of Music Education, Jackson State University

Lloyd Turner

Mr. Lloyd Turner (2010)
Instructor of Trumpet

lturner@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts

Bachelor of Music Education, University of Southern Mississippi;
Master of Trumpet Performance, University of Mississippi;
Specialist of Music Education, University of Mississippi

Tim Walker

Mr. Tim Walker (2019)
Director of Worship Choir and Singing Christmas Tree

twalker@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, 116

Bachelor of Science in Biology and Chemistry, William Carey University;
Master of Music–Conducting, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary;
Doctor of Musical Arts, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary

Sarah Waters

Mrs. Sarah Waters (2016)
Instructor of Voice and Music History

swaters@belhaven.edu
Center for the Arts, 116

Bachelors of Arts in History, Goucher College;
Masters of Music Education, Jackson State University;
Doctor of Musical Arts, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary (in progress)